title. The Forgotten Sin: a ritual space for melancholia

created, directed, and designed by. Holly M Wright

description. A spatial exploration of the eighth sin, melancholia, investigating phenomenological story telling methods through intentional engagement of the five senses.


Before there were Seven Deadly Sins there were Eight Evil Thoughts. Seven of them became the deadly sins, all closely tied to excess: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride. The eighth, however, almost defies translation. Most accurately, it is called “melancholia” or sadness in which one chooses to wallow, another type of excess. This sadness could be self- pity; negative thoughts regarding another’s success; “despond” or an overwhelming outlook of gloom, despair, or hopelessness; ennui; apathy; inertia; existential boredom. It is distinct from what we understand today as clinical depression in that there is an active choice to languish in these feelings.


This experience is a space for acknowledgement, indulgence, and an unravelling of self.

Audience space is limited as people will only be admitted one at a time

book your spot here


Duration: 30 minutes

24th and 26th August

Gilmorehill Centre